The Cardinals of the Holy Roman Church

Guide to documents and events

1st 2nd 3rd 4th 5th 6th 7th 8th 9th 10th 11th 12th 13th 14th
15th 16th 17th 18th 19th 20th 21st Guide Home

2nd Century

"Titles" divided among the presbyters, St. Evaristus (97-105).

The fifth successor of St. Peter divided the Roman titles among the priests and ordained 7 deacons to watch over the bishop when reciting [mass] and safeguard the expression of the truth.

Hic titulos in urbe Roma dividit presbiteris et VII diaconos ordinavit, qui custodirent episcopum predicantem propter stilum veritatis.

Source: Josi, Enrico. "Titoli della Chiesa Romana", Enciclopedia Cattolica, 12 vols. Città del Vaticano: Ente per l'Enciclopedia Cattolica e per il Libro Cattolico, 1949-1954, vol. 12, columns 152-158.

Text: The Book of Pontiffs (Liber Pontificalis). The ancient biographies of the first ninety Roman bishops to AD 715. Translated with an introduction by Raymond Davis. Liverpool: Liverpool University Press, 1989. (Translated texts for historians, Latin Series V), p. 3; Monumenta Germaniae Historica, Liber Pontificalis, "VI. Evaristus", p. 9..

Top Home Guide Catalogs

©1998-2018 Salvador Miranda.